Artillery Senate2020-06-14T22:24:39-04:00

Artillery Senate


Artillery Senate is the senior governing body of the Royal Regiment and acts its de facto Board of Directors.  Its mandate is to promote and preserve the long-term well-being of the RCA and to further its interests.  While Artillery Council (chaired by the Senior Serving Gunner), concerns itself largely with matters related to operational effectiveness and leadership (Lines of Operation 1 and 2 of the RCA Family Strategy), Artillery Senate (chaired by the Colonel Commandant and co-chaired by the Senior Serving Gunner) focuses on the health of the Regimental Family institution; its place in Canadian society; and the celebration of its heritage (Lines of Operation 3 to 5).  Artillery Senate does not involve itself in matters within the purview of Artillery Council, unless specifically requested to advise or assist.  To accomplish its mandate, Artillery Senate works with stakeholders both within and without The Royal Regiment including the Royal Canadian Artillery Association (RCAA), honorary appointees  and  “friends of the Regiment”.


Ex Officio

  • Colonel Commandant (Chair)
  • Senior Serving Gunner (Co-Chair)
  • Serving Artillery General Officers
  • Immediate past Colonel Commandant
  • The Chair of the Board and the President of the RCAA
  • The Chair of the RCA Heritage Campaign

Ex Officio Non-voting

  • Director of Artillery
  • Regimental Colonel (Secretary)
  • Executive Director Heritage Charitable Campaign
  • Executive Director RCA Association


  • Elected members (10-15 to a maximum of 25 Senate members)

Current members of the Artillery Senate:

  • Brigadier-General (Ret’d) J.J. Selbie (Chair)
  • Lieutenant-General M.N. Rouleau (Co-chair)
  • Lieutenant-General (Ret’d) M.K. Jeffery
  • Major-General J.S.S.D. Fortin
  • Brigadier-General L.P. McGarry
  • Brigadier-General (Ret’d) D.A. Patterson
  • Colonel R. Garon
  • Colonel M.C. Harvey
  • Lieutenant-Colonel S. Heer
  • Lieutenant-Colonel (Ret’d) L. Jensen
  • Lieutenant-Colonel (Ret’d) M.D. McKay
  • Major R. Gratton
  • Major (Ret’d) N.L. Stewart
  • CWO G. Angel
  • CWO (Mr Gnr) (Ret’d) DH Robinson
  • Honorary Colonel S. Gregory
  • Honorary Colonel A. Mawji
  • Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel M. Clearihue
  • Mr. W.C. Petersen

Honorary Director

  • Lieutenant-General (Ret’d) R.A. Dallaire


  • Set the direction for The Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery as an institution or regimental family
  • Develop, apply and amend as appropriate the RCA Family Strategy
  • Govern the Royal Regiment in matters related to Lines of Operation 3 to 5 of the RCA Family Strategy including approval and oversight of supporting programs, projects and activities
  • Oversee management of the RCA Regimental and RCA Heritage Funds and approve their annual operating plans
  • Maintain awareness of all nominations of RCA Honorary Colonels and Honorary Lieutenant-Colonels
  • Approve major amendments to RCA Standing Orders

Subscribe to The
Canadian Gunner News/
Abonnez-vous aux
Nouvelles des artilleurs